2016 National Presentation

Winners Announced at National Presentation Ceremony.

Budding young poets from all over the nation attended the Dorothea Mackellar Poetry Awards National Presentation ceremony in Gunnedah NSW, celebrating the best of modern creative writing in Australian schools.

Over 11,766 entries from young Australian poets were received with competition judges Sophie Mason and Stephen Whiteside set the difficult task of selecting the winning submission for each of the seven individual categories and 2 schools to be selected for their outstanding effort in teaching and promoting poetry.

Go to our Awards Winners page to view all the details on the best poetry from 2016 competition.

The ceremony was attended by the Dorothea Mackellar Memorial Society Patrons Margaret White, Mark Vaile and Peter Shergold as well as renowned ABC journalist and keynote speaker Heather Ewart.